top of page
Search
  • c23422648

Annotations on 3D

Asset Inspiration


 



  • Housing atmosphere idea generation


The first thing that I had to brainstorm for this project was, what type of house would I want it to be? My initial ideas were to make a traditional haunted house which many see within kids animated horror films, but then my approached changed. The more I looked into it I realised creating atmosphere was the best way to go with this project, so I gathered images of abandoned and decrepit houses which look they haven't been in use for centuries. This is a good baseline to start off on as going forth, I can link back all my ideas to this initial one.






  • Broken oil lantern


I added in images of oil lanterns, specifically broken ones to give the atmosphere of there being something deadly due to the idea that someone must've dropped the oil lantern, but how? I can use the experimentation I have done in my 3D classes to extrude and reshape a cylinder in maya, then using the Arnold renders to make it look more lifelike.





  • Scatters of litter


Adding more to the atmosphere of adding assets to make the mansion look more rundown, I thought adding scatters of rubbish outside of the house would help it look more abandoned. I haven't specifically learnt how to make piles of rubbish in maya, but I feel I could make broken cardboard pieces using the extrude and r key to make it look more Janky.





  • Dishevelled trees

In most horror animated kid's films, to symbolise the horror aspects within that movie, the most common factor to implement is creepy looking trees. This is definitely needed within this project as it ties in the whole ordeal that this isn't any normal house but something more sinister and creepier. In 3D we had already experimented with extruding and scaling trees, however I didn't entirely get the hang of it, so I'll practice it more at a later date.




  • 3D inspiration


Later on in my case studies, I know I will be looking into specifically the movie Coraline as the film premise within that is definitely what I want for my own assets I'm going to make. The visuals and rendering on the animation and scenery is exactly what I want within my own due to the yellow and green ominous hue shading. This will then help me in my own 3D assets as I'll use the Arnold texturing to give it more yellow/ green tones to provide more of an eerie feeling to my set piece. As well this perfectly links to the mood I was talking about in the housing inspiration, so it all ties together perfectly.







1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page