top of page
Search
  • c23422648

Annotations on animation

Animation Inspiration


 


  • Psychological horror aesthetic inspiration

I knew from the very beginning that I would create a psychological horror for this brief, but I didn't know exactly what to begin with. With the animation having to be a beat 'em up style-based game' I needed to both input horror aspects but also fighting. But to start the idea generation, I put together an aesthetic of what I want the animation to be revolved around. Mainly a girl with some sort of mental health complications struggling through something, leading a confrontation with someone/something. I didn't want this to be a basic fighting animation as I thought that would be too ordinary and boring, so, I took my own unique approach with it.




  • Video game inspiration

Mainly due to videogames taking on sorts of different ways of styling their games, I wanted to go down the pixel route. My first idea that came to mind was needy streamer overload which is ironically a psychological horror as well. With it, I love how they use the pixelated style but not too heavy where the characters are still detailed. The environment is exactly what I wanted within my animation as well, so mine will be heavily inspired down to the premise, themes and character personalities. The major difference however is this s novel type game.



  • Background and lighting

Taking the inspiration from NSO [needy streamer overload] I want the basic premise to be set in an apartment with heavy references to video game and shut-in culture. So predominantly a massive gaming set up with merchandise. However, I needed something as a guideline on how to present this within my animation, and Sally Face does it perfectly. It's so when the character is moving the background is moving in unison as well, so it looks like the character is walking. This idea is definitely going to implemented within mine as a crucial part of my 2D animation. Then, to bring more into the horror aspect, I wanted this to be set at night, using blue tones as rendering to provide that unsettling atmosphere within what will actually happen.



  • Colour themes

Within videogames specifically simplified or pixelated ones, colour schemes are everything to the character and settings within. This is why I took many colour palettes and made my own section for the mood board as it is incredibly crucial. I started off with pink tones and palettes as that's what I want the main starting background colour to be with a mix of purples and reds to add variety. Thjen a massive contrast with the blues/ greens. This is because these tones I want to use as inspiration to create depth and atmosphere with it being night-time, making the colours perfectly suited.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page